Prokofiev

Originally from Saturday, July 17, 2010

I went to the New York Phil’s outdoor concert in Queens the other night with M, a high school friend. It was only my second time in Queens, probably ever. This neighborhood was wildly different from the neighborhood I went to with D on my only other trip to Queens when we rode out for Thai food (supposedly the best in New York City). As in, it was really nice, and looked oddly like Connecticut.
Unfortunately, Bernstein’s West Side Story sounded basically like a tired-out movie score enlived by a few exceptional moments– I got the feeling the orchestra wasn’t too into it. But then, Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet. I’m crazy about this music, played an arrangement of some of its movements on piano, saw the ballet about three times… my favorite movement is the death of Tybalt. I was trying to search for the words to describe the tone of this music, which sets the scene for the culmination of all the Montague-Capulet enmity in Tybalt’s death in a duel, and which reminds me of the tone of the second movement in the mighty and disturbing 5th Symphony. What I came up with was the phrase “mounting horror”.

Leave a Reply

